Anthony J Leggett Postdoctoral Fellowship

Anthony J Leggett Fellowship Positions at AJL-ICMT

The Anthony J. Leggett Institute for Condensed Matter Theory (AJL-ICMT) of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign announces the newly created Anthony J. Leggett Postdoctoral Fellowship in Condensed Matter Theory. This new three-year postdoctoral fellowship is possible by generous funding from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Applications for this position are encouraged from outstanding individuals working in broad areas of Condensed Matter Physics. The Leggett Postdoctoral Fellowship provides especially wide latitude in choosing research activities. Fellows are encouraged to be broadly engaged with condensed matter research activities at Illinois.

The Department of Physics of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign is one of the preeminent Physics Departments in the world. For the past twenty years we have been ranked among the top ten Physics departments in the US and we are top ranked in Condensed Matter Physics. Condensed Matter Physics has a long tradition of excellence at Illinois, going back to the work of John Bardeen, Leon Cooper, and J. Robert Schrieffer in the first theory of superconductivity, and Anthony J. Leggett on the theory of superfluid 3He.

Our Institute was established in 2007 with support from the University of Illinois. This Fall 2023 it became the Anthony J. Leggett Institute for Condensed Matter Theory. AJL-ICMT faculty members work on very broad areas of research in Condensed Matter Physics. Quantum Materials is one of our main strengths and we are working in several key areas including Topological Phases of Matter, Quantum Hall fluids, High Temperature Superconductors, Ultra-Cold Gases, Simulations of Quantum Fluids and Quantum Materials, Non-Equilibrium Physics in Classical and Quantum Systems, Quantum Entanglement and Quantum Information in Condensed Matter, Quantum Criticality, and the AdS/CFT correspondence to Condensed Matter. Current AJL-ICMT faculty working in this area include Barry Bradlyn, Bryan Clark, David Ceperley, Karin Dahmen, Tom Faulkner, Rafael Fernandes, Eduardo Fradkin (current AJL-ICMT Director), Matthew Gilbert, Taylor L. Hughes, Jong Yeon Lee, Anthony J. Leggett, Robert G. Leigh, Philip Phillips, Michael Stone, Lucas K. Wagner, and Smitha Vishveshwara.

Postdoctoral researchers at Illinois interact with other theorists at Illinois, with the superb and large experimental condensed matter group, including members of the Materials Research Laboratory, the Illinois Quantum Information Science and Technology Center (IQUIST) and have access to unparalleled facilities for computation through the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA).

Applicants for the Anthony J. Leggett Postdoctoral Fellowship should go online at to submit their application, which must include a cover letter, curriculum vitae, list of publications, statement of research interests, and the names and email addresses of  three references. If you have any questions or need assistance or accommodation in completing this application, please contact Ljubica Milutinovic, For full consideration applications should be received by November 1, 2023. We welcome applications from women and minorities. The University of Illinois is an EEO Employer/Vet/Disabled