Moore Foundation grant will sustain the mission of the ICMT

By Siv Schwink
December 10, 2019

Institute for Condensed Matter Theory in the Department of Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has recently received a five-year grant of over $1 million from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. The grant is part of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation’s Emergent Phenomena in Quantum Systems (EPiQS) Initiative, which strives to catalyze major discoveries in the field of quantum materials—solids and engineered structures characterized by novel quantum phases of matter and exotic cooperative behaviors of electrons. This is the second 5-year EPiQS grant awarded to the ICMT by the Moore Foundation. The two awards establish an EPiQS Theory Center at the Institute for Condensed Matter Theory.


Physics Professors Taylor Hughes and Smitha Vishveshwara are the PI and co-PI, respectively, on the grant. The two PIs have worked with ICMT Director and Professor Eduardo Fradkin to established three key research fields that are priorities for its quantum-materials theory group: topological phases, strongly correlated matter, and computational tool development with an emphasis on quantum states of matter and non-equilibrium phenomena.